Carteret County
North Carolina
Established 1722

Carteret County History

Carteret County was formed in 1722 from Craven County and was named in honor of Sir John Carteret (1690-1763) who in 1744 became Earl Granville, one of the Lords Proprietors. It is in the eastern section of the State and is bounded by the Atlantic Ocean and Onslow, Jones and Craven counties and on the banks by Hyde County. Beaufort, the county seat, was laid out in 1713 and established in 1723. It is named in honor of Henry Somerset (1684-1714), who was Duke of Beaufort, one of the Lord Proprietors.

For more details visit Carteret County at the North Carolina History Project

©1996-2009  Joel S. Russell. All rights reserved